The Lucida Console

Born in Halifax in 2002, The Lucida Console consisted of Matthew Haigh (Guitar and Vocals), Matthew Purdon (Guitar), Scott Hartley (Bass), Will Akroyd (Keyboard and Samples) and Jason Howard (Drums). Matthew Haigh and the orignal Lucida Console drummer Si Marks both previously played in Buen Chico, Matthew Purdon and Scott Hartley in SoundforLucy and Jason Howard in Tract. 

The band extensively toured the UK for 4 years, playing with the likes of Biffy Clyro, Minus, Kill Kenada, Aereogramme, Reuben, the Editors, We are Scientists, thisGIRL, People in Planes, Redjetson, Youthmovie Soundtrack Strategies, Oceansize and 65daysofstatic, as well as winning the Futuresound competition and going on to play the Carling Leeds Festival. Although no proper release ever surfaced, many songs were recorded, including Reminiscent and Comedown Captain, which both appeared on the first two Dance To The Radio compilations respectively.

They were well recieved and reviewed by critics, and were well known for their epic and tight live show. The Lucida Console played their last gig on December 30th 2006. Matthew Haigh, Matthew Purdon and Jason Howard now play in Hands That Built.


view all


New DTTR website and shop

As you'll see in front of you this is the brand new websi


view all

No upcoming gigs for The Lucida Console


DTTR007 - What We All Want (DTTR007CD)
DTTR002 - Dance To The Radio: Leeds (DTTR002CD)